Who we are



Vocal Revolution (VR) is one of New England's premier A Capella groups.  VR is a non-for-profit men's chorus whose mission is "moving audiences and enriching lives through musical excellence".  Founded in February of 1970, VR is proud to be the Concord, MA Chapter of the Barbershop Harmony Society (BHS)

Our 80 plus performing members, hail from Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Maine and New Jersey.   We are the highest ranking chorus in the Northeastern District (NED) of BHS with 28 District Championship titles.  VR is a dues-paying organization that includes high school and college students, professional engineers, doctors, and lawyers to mention a few.

We are WGBH's Sing That Thing Season 2 Adult Category and Overall Champions. 


Dan Costello

Artistic Director

Daniel Costello is Musical Director of Vocal Revolution. Dan has been singing Barbershop for 19 years thanks to his Grandfather John Brennan, who introduced him to our awesome hobby.

He joined Vocal Revolution (formally Sounds of Concord) in 2003 singing baritone, becoming Director in January 2008. Dan became a Certified Director of the Barbershop Harmony Society in 2011. Under his direction, VR has advanced in competition winning the Northeastern District Chorus Championship: 5 years in a row. It’s been quite a ride for Dan and VR.  

Dan has been active in at least five registered quartets. His current quartet, Downtown Crossing, is the 2013 Northeastern District Quartet Champions and competed Internationally in July 2012 and July 2014. 


Joey Constantine

Assistant Artistic Director

After one year of "playing" the clarinet in the middle school band, Joey quickly realized that the only instrument he needed was his voice. He has performed in various vocal ensembles since his early woodwind education, including being invited to perform in the MENC All Eastern Chorus in 2004.

At Westfield State, he sang a cappella and played guitar in several acoustic ensembles while pursuing a degree in Communications. After school, he searched far and wide for music fulfillment and found that 4-part harmony was waiting for him! In addition to singing with Vocal Revolution he is the Lead of Drive Quartet and 2013 Northeastern District Quartet Champions Downtown Crossing. 

Outside of singing,

Joey works for CollegeWeekLive as a Client Coordinator (Corporate Bitch). He also enjoys craft beer and swimming. Separately, of course.


David Patterson

Assistant Artistic Director

David joined the Barbershop Harmony Society in 1960, at age 15.  He has enjoyed a diverse and fulfilling career in the world of Barbershop.  He was in the Society’s Judging Program for nearly 25 years.  Upon leaving the Judging Program, he received the esteemed title and Award of “Judge Emeritus". 

He has been the Musical Director of five choruses.   He was Musical Director of the, then, SOUNDS OF CONCORD (prior to them becoming VOCAL REVOLUTION), leading them to two District Championships and two appearances at the Society’s International Chorus competition.   Also, David was Musical Director of our rival GRANITE STATESMEN chorus from Nashua, New Hampshire, leading them to two District Championships and two appearances at the Society’s International Chorus competition.

He sang Baritone in a quartet which twice qualified for the Society’s International Quartet competition.  He has won 21 District Chorus Championships with 3 different choruses.  He has sung and competed in a number of quartets.  He has coached a number of quartets and choruses.  With VOCAL REVOLUTION, he is serving the chorus as Assistant Director and as Bass Section Leader.



Executive Board


Bill Selander -  President

Carl Mikkelsen - Secretary  

Bruce Lopatin - Treasurer

Carlo Ioffredo - Vice President, Music & Performance  

Nate Ware - Vice President, Membership

Matt Saucier - Vice President, Marketing & Public Relations

Joel Sutherland - Vice President, Chapter Programming

Glenn McElhoe - Vice President, Chapter Outreach

At Large Board Members:

Jeff Forman
Don Lind
Bob Perry


Special Acknowlegements

Barbershoper of the Year               Presidents Award                  Directors Award

2016 - Matt Saucier                                                                                                    2016 - Don Lind                                                                   2016 - Bob Perry
2015 - Joel Sutherland                                                                                             2015 - Ian Mores                                                                  2015 - Max Sabor  
2014 - Glenn McElhoe                                                                                               2014 - Bruce Lopatin                                                         2014 - Bill Selander
2013 - Douglas Peterson                                                                                          2013 - Don Davis                                                                 2013 - Robert Cincotta
2012 - Joey Constantine
2011 - David Pierce
2011 - Mark Schuldenfrei
2010 - Dan Costello
2009 - Don Davis
2008 - Jim Kenealy
2007 - Ralph Fishman
2006 - Lee Daum
2005 - Hank Turner
2004 - Larry Horwitz
2003 - Steve Nester
2002 - Tom Batton
2001 - Dick Bonzagni
2000 - Joe Casparius
1999 - Don Scott
1999 - Owen Sponagle
1998 - Herb Terakawa
1997 - Scott Domaratius
1996 - Carl D'Angio
1995 - Bill Labelle
1994 - Ernie Johansen
1993 - Lindsay Coyle
1992 - Jim Curley
1991 - Wendall Putney
1990 - David Patterson
1989 - Greg Caetano
1988 - Bob Kilroe
1987 - Mark Carlson
1986 - Ed Rand
1985 - Tom McMahan
1983 - Ken Carter
1982 - Norm Buerklin
1981 - Ron Greene
1980 - Ev Nau
1976 - Lloyd Bickford

Watch Us



2016 Barbershop Harmony Society International Contest


My Wonderful One





Keep Your Sunny Side Up